Judging with confidence



Slalom judging

* Paddling a course and negotiating each gate in ascending
number order in the correct direction trying not to incur a
penalty.

* Division 2,3,4 gate judges mark each paddler through a
section and relay results to control

* Division 1 & Prem, gate judges signal their marks for each
paddler to a section judge who compares the scoring& relays
results to control. Gate and Section judges different angles to
get the best view.



What Penalties?

2 second for any touch on the gate the paddler is negotiating
by body boat or paddle UNLESS they have already negotiated
the next gate.

* Penalties are either 2 or 50 (even for C2)

Any other score on your card is judges clerk error so needs to
be amended
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% Head

* All of head AND part of boat through the gate line at the
SAME time

* Applies coming into, through and out of the gate

* Full head — line under rear of helmet, under ear, down jaw
line, under chin, under other ear.

* If pole bounces off the top of helmet likely to be half head



Deliberate Displacement

* If paddler’s head is not going to go through gate line and
they move one of the poles so they do go through then DD

* Hand coming off paddle and moving pole often seen in Div 3
&4

* Could be paddle or arm sweeping pole around paddler



Quirky bits

* No penalty for paddler repeating the same gate provided the
go in the correct direction and don’t touch it on one of the
circuits

* Double entry no longer applies provided enter and leave in
the correct direction (can bounce backwards and forwards in
gate line)

* Penalities still valid if wind blows poles into or beyond
paddler, or gate swinging from previous competitor.

* Paddler can go through gate backwards/sideways or
forwards provided in correct direction



What is the gate line and when it is hegotiated?

* Line between bottom of poles and river bed
(wherever that is!)

* Negotiating of the gate begins when touch a pole or
head BREAKS the gate line

* A paddler who is upside down going through a gate is
still classed as negotiating the gate line.



Judging sheets

* Fill out the top every time
* Paddler number (and bib colour if different)

* L or R pole contact (as the paddler presents to the gate)
Abbreviations consistent

* Write what you actually see
* Quick ref then detail, always give a reason
* Line across sheet between classes (use both sides if printed)



Competitor 1up 2 3 4 comments
number

4 2 LP / / 2 RP G4 back paddler right arm
bow Arm outside pole as turned
Entry downstream
2 / 50 50 split / G2 boat not across enough so
miss R Fin missed gate

G3 Front pad through gate,
back pad missed left



Protest Forms and Jury

* Have the right to protest your penalties but fee so get a
transmission check first

* Video evidence NOT admissible unless international when all
paddlers are videoed and judges review automatically

* Unlikely to be successful UNLESS judges haven’t written
reason for penalty or on occasion if GJ & SJ disagree then
best sight lines, vital as much as detail as possible



Final Tips

* Watch paddler thoughout the move especially UP gates

* Try to note each gate then details after relay scores back to
control or to section judges

* Write only what you see ( if gate move but no touch or
blinked at the moment — say so)

* Angle you see a gate makes a difference
* You are only human — mistakes are made
* So reduce event boredom and give it a go



